Ice Circle
Youki Hirakawa

Ice Circle is an eight channel video installation deals with relationship between human existence and nature environment, particularly, megalithic culture and ice age. Eight videos show eight glacial erratics in different landscapes, which has been filmed in different places around northern Germany.

Glacial erratic is boulders which have been moved by glacial movements from one location to another in the ice age. It has been widely scattered countries around The Baltic Sea, and some of them have been carried by glacier over than 400km. Since many of those boulders have different materiality as its surroundings, thus most of them have legends or folk tales related to devil and witch, even some of them called "Devils Rock".

The artist visited many of those boulders in northern Germany, and filmed it with landscapes. Immersive panoramic landscape brings you to inside of an ideal stone-circle that leads you to consider relationship with megalithic culture, ice age and even the birth of human existence.

Berlin-based Japanese artist Youki Hirakawa specializes in representing time with image, revealing and releasing the time hidden behind things and space. By doing so, the artist highlights the fluid existence of time in space. Through his observation of natural materials and daily objects, Hirakawa photographs or films the changes of his subjects for a long period of time, adding a sense of tender life into digital technology. Removed of colors and sounds as well as indicators of time and space, his work surfaces as slow-paced and refined visual poetry that invites viewers to slow down their pace and re-perceive the world from a new perspective.

Media: 10 min each 、 Mute 、 Black & White 、 Full HD 8 Channel Video Installation / Size:Dimension Variable / Year:2017

冰川陣
平川祐樹

《冰川陣》是一件八頻道錄像裝置,主在探討人類存在與自然環境的相互關係,尤其是指巨石文化與冰河時期的自然景觀。此作品於鄰近德國北部地區所拍攝,以不同的景色呈現八座冰川漂礫。

冰川漂礫為在冰河時期因冰川活動而被搬運的巨大漂石,包括波羅的海,以及其他一些漂礫皆因冰川活動而被搬運了400多公里。這些漂石因有著與所在環境相異的外型,所以經常與民間傳說故事連結,像是惡魔或是女巫,有些甚至被稱為「魔鬼之岩」。

藝術家於德國北方拍攝這些漂石,並透過沉浸全景的呈現方式帶領觀者進入完美石陣的內在,進而引發巨石文化、冰河時期以及人類存在的反思。

目前旅居於德國柏林創作的日籍藝術家平川祐樹,擅長使用影像來提煉時間,企圖讓隱匿於事物與空間背後的時間顯露,突顯時間流動地存在於空間中。透過對於自然素材及日常物件的觀察,將數位化的技術帶入柔軟的生命力,濾除色彩與聲響,將時空的座標歸零,徐緩、細緻地吟詠著與時間相關的影像詩句,邀請觀者放慢腳步以新的視角重新認識並感知世界。

作品媒材: Full HD 黑白無聲八頻道影像裝置 、 每頻道10分鐘 / 作品尺寸:依現場空間而定 / 作品年份:2017